IN ALL ERNESTNESS


Do you know someone?
February 16, 2010, 12:03 am
Filed under: justice, life, love, ministry, missions, people, prayer, religion, Uncategorized, whatever | Tags: , , , , , ,

Have you ever thought there is more to life than what you were living? Have you ever thought there is more to following God than what you were experiencing? These are the thoughts that have led us to where we are.

A few years ago I was on staff at a church and we were doing all the “church” things. On the outside all looked well, but on the inside there were spots of emptiness. There had to be more to God than what we were living and teaching, if there wasn’t then church and God really were boring. Eventually this caused us to leave our church position. To what, we really didn’t know. In the time that followed we developed a deeper meaning of what it means to love God, love people. We have a deeper compassion for others. We have been moved to live more simply, want less, and give more (not only monetarily but with our lives as well). We have been introduced to the homeless in the Houston Montrose area. We have been introduced to Haiti, the poorest country in the western hemisphere and our hearts burn for them. We have made contacts and friends there and have been privileged to make several trips. We have been introduced to others whom God is moving; kindred hearts and kindred spirits. We are not the same and we are thankful.

Complacency is no longer an option. We want to be more and do more for the cause of Christ. We don’t want to just play church, we want to be the church. We don’t want to play Christian, we want to be true followers of Christ. We want to make a difference.

In the past few years God has allowed us to do some really cool things and be a part of some pretty amazing stories as He used this time to change us and grow us. However, lately I have not been able to rest and my mind has been constantly going over all the needs and the injustices in this world. I have been thinking about what it really looks like to love as God loves and to truly follow Him with our lives. I’ve been thinking of my own life and where I am. I have been meditating, praying, seeking…and I feel God leading…leading me away from my cubicle and back to full-time service with my life. Not to just join a church staff or play church but to really serve Him and live for Him. To be a part of a ministry, organization, or group of people who are passionate about the same things I am and have the same hunger and desire to see things done, to make a difference and create change. Do you know someone/somewhere who fits that description? Do you fit that description? If so, I would love to talk with you. Below are a few things about myself…

What I am not: I am not perfect. In fact, I am far from it. I make mistakes and have made mistakes, some really big ones to be exact. But ,as much as I hate them, those mistakes have helped make me to who I am today. God truly can bring beauty from ashes. He truly does not waste a hurt if we turn it over to Him.

What I am: I am passionate, dedicated, determined, and hungry.

Passionate: I am passionate about a God that loves me so much He sent His son, Jesus, the Liberating King, to die for me. I am passionate about a Gospel that is relevant to today and about introducing people to that Gospel. I am passionate about being Christ to those around me; about loving God, loving people. I am passionate about the needs and the injustices of this world. I am passionate about family.

Dedicated: I am dedicated to the various obligations, tasks, and goals set before me. I am dedicated to sharing the message and the love of the Liberating King with others. I am dedicated to loving God, loving people and living that love out loud. I am dedicated to confronting the injustices and meeting the needs of this world in any way possible. I am dedicated to my family; to be someone who they can trust, depend on, and to be a leader they can follow.

Determined: I am determined to do more than just exist. I am determined to do more than just make a living. I am determined to make a difference. I am determined to create change in this world for the name of Christ. I am determined to see the church be the church God intended it to be and to see Christians living lives of faith that are real and go beyond our typical Sunday and mid-week routines and rituals.

Hungry: I am hungry for something different, for change. Change in this world. Change in myself. Change in the church. Hungry to do something adventurous, amazing, and crazy for God and hungry to lead others to do the same. I am hungry to be a part of something bigger than myself.

Hungry to live out Isaiah 1:17 which says, “Learn to do right! Seek justice, encourage the oppressed. Rebuke the oppressor. Defend the cause of the fatherless, plead the case of the widow.”

Plea: If you know of someone or a ministry/organization (or if you are that someone) who could use someone like me please let me know. I know this may seem crazy but I am serious. I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

God Bless you in your walk.

Comment by Slamdunk

Hey Ernest, my wife follows your wife’s blog, and we both have been following your updates on your adoption from Twitter. Our church has currently been praying for someone that fits your description. We are a pretty small church body that meets at Warner Elementary in Cypress, TX. It’s a church plant from a Lutheran church associated with the Missouri-Synod branch of the Lutheran church (I hate saying all of that…). Since becoming a Christian in college, I’ve always gone to non-denominational Bible churches. So, in going to this church, it’s definitely been a challenge for me. There are some things doctrinally that I don’t think are Biblical, such as their stance on baptism and communion. But at the same time, they are committed to doing things that I don’t see a lot of other churches doing (things that Jesus does…), which is why we have stayed and continued to go there. One of their commitments is to give away 50% to outreach (feeding the poor, reaching the lost, etc.) that comes in financially.

We recently were able (by God’s grace) to gather a large amount of donations for the people of Haiti by standing in front of a Kroger store. People from other churches joined us in this effort, and it was really cool to see how God can take a little mustard seed sized faith, and turn it into something beautiful for Him, and for a people in need.

We also have a group that goes down every Wednesday night to Montrose Street Reach, which is a homeless ministry that provides food, clothing, etc. to the homeless.

We are looking to do other things like this in the Cypress area and beyond, and are looking for someone just like you to help lead the way. Anyways, I’m not even on staff with the church (there’s only the pastor on staff), but after reading your post, I felt compelled to write to you bro.

If you’re interested, I can get you in touch with the pastor who I think would definitely be interested in talking to you. Have a great day, Ernest!

Comment by Spencer Barfuss

We (our family) miss you gusy and your heart. Praying that if you put this out there, God will bring someone to you or you to someone. To ministries out there – you need this man and his family on your team!

Comment by Jen

WOW…. this is ALL what i am about and the ministry i work with…check out our website and my blog!

http://t-raehaiti.blogspot.com/

http://muchministries.org/

Blessings
Natasha

Comment by Natasha

Okay…I read this (I’m not stalking, I have just been following you and your wife and praying for your journey) and I started to jump up and down and inside (as not to scare my baby) I was yelling YES! as loud as I could. I am forwarding your information on to our Pastor. We have an awesome church, but I’m with you, I want do more…I don’t want to play church anymore…as a matter of fact every day is becoming more and more of a struggle for me as I go about my ‘daily’ responsibilities. I told my husband last night that I was ready to go, and he said, alright…then he reminded me that there are no massage therapists who can work on my back in Africa…or Haiti…or Uganda…and I said I don’t care. I’m want to be so much a part of the Kingdom work that there is no question as to WHAT it is we’re doing.

Anyway, I’m forwarding your info on, and it may not turn into anything, but even if they can bring you in to speak to the men of our congregation, that would be awesome. Be blessed.

Comment by Sara

Ernest, I don’t know much about the church, but I just felt like I should throw this information out there. A lot of my classmates attend Crosspoint church near Bellaire (related church to West U Baptist), and one informed me that they are now looking for a new youth minister, as theirs just stepped up to associate pastor. Sorry I don’t have much more information than that. As I was reading, I just felt the Lord tugging at my heart strings to post about it. 🙂

Comment by kimb

are you interested in working with a rescue center for urban poor children in the Philippines? we have an orphanage that desperately needs help in the shape of house parents…

Comment by denie

Thank you for all for the leads as I plan to prayerfully consider each of them and follow accordingly.

Comment by ernestparker




Leave a Reply

