IN ALL ERNESTNESS


God’s Grin
February 10, 2010, 12:14 am
Filed under: adoption, family, friends, fun, Haiti, justice, life, love, ministry, people, Uncategorized, whatever | Tags: , , , , ,

It had been a long night. I hadn’t slept in over 34 hrs and even then only for a short spell. My mind is tired and my body exhausted. 9 days I’d been away from home and 8 days I’d camped inside the U.S. Embassy. Cold, hard tile doesn’t make the best of beds. Just 24 hrs earlier all hell had broke loose inside the Embassy (or should I say Consul General Donald Moore’s house) and we were being threatened to be removed by military force. We had all been told our paperwork was finalized and approved and we were ready to go. There were some beaurocratic issues with the military flights but if we could get a private flight we were good to go. We got the planes; they kept us there…they had lied. In fact, our papers hadn’t even been sent to Haitian PM. With limited sleep and high emotions our frustration poured out. The voices had been heard though because after things settled down we began to see progress and within 24 hrs we were being loaded onto a C-17 and headed for Miami. Now after 5-1/2 hrs in customs and immigration we were bussed to His House Childrens Home. Here the kids were all taken to be bathed, cleaned, an allowed to play while we, the adoptive parents, had to fill out paperwork to finalize the guardianship process for the humanitarian parole. I finished the paperwork after only a few hours and got to go play with R while they processed it all.
It’s almost over an we can’t wait to get home but minutes turn to hours as we await the call telling us we are released and free to go. We watch as family after family is released. There were 2 flights headed to Houston that night…we already missed the first and the 2nd is leaving at 6p. Time is slipping away and people are telling me there is no way we are going to make the flight. It’s now 5p and I look over to find R with his face buried into his hands. I have flashbacks of us in the Embassy when his eyes filled with discouragent as he told me we were all lying and we really weren’t going to get to leave. Please God, make this happen.
A car pulls up and a lady steps out to pick up another family who just got clearance…”Mam, I’ve really got to catch a 6pm flight, will you please see what the hold up is?” She calls the front office, talks for a little while then hangs up. “Mr. Parker, you’re finished now. You just need to get your paperwork and sign out, but you’ll never make a 6p flight. We are about 45 min from the airport.” “Thank you, I just want to try. Will you call me a cab?”
We drive to the front office and there is a man about to leave. He happens to be going to the airport an says we can hitch a ride. I ran inside, grabbed my paperwork, signed out, and jump into his van.” I felt like I was in an episode of the Amazing Race. My heart was beating so fast, sweat was dripping down my face, and prayers were going up. I get a message with my flight details. We are going first class, are you kidding me? It’s rush hour and we run into traffic…I gaze at my watch, it’s 5:35p. My heart is in my throat…please God, get us there.
We finally arrive at MIA and it’s 5:45p and we still have to get our tickets and go through security. We are definitely cutting it close.
We run to the ticket counter to find they have given our seats up…are you kidding me? “we are sorry, Mr. Parker, but we can get you in coach.” “Just get me home!” i tell her. She calls a guy over and tells him we are first class passengers and need to get on that plane. He takes us over and helps get us through security quicker than Ive ever made it before.
The race is on. We are running like crazy and poor R doesn’t understand what all is going on. “Papa!” “Papa!” “What?” I ask. “Papa, gotta pee pee!” Really? I see the desperation in his eyes so we find the nearest rest room and “go”.
As we finally reach our gate i realize the door to the Tarmac is closed…my heart falls. “Mam, can you get us on? We’ve got to make this flight!” she calls the captain, turns, smiles, and opens the door…we’ve made it!
At that very moment I knew we were going to be home that night. We would see Mama and Carly and Colton and Jude and many others. No more Embassy floor, no more fighting governemnt officials and beaurocracy, no more racing against time…we were going home! I felt like a kid on Christmas Eve.
As I sat and thought of all the prayers going up for us to make the flight, of the Amazing Race to the airport, the worries, the anxiety involved in making that flight to get home…all of the excitement…I thought of God. I imagined Him like a father who eagerly awaits for his kids to open thier gifts on Christmas morning…
He knew I was going to make the flight. He didn’t have to wait until the absolute last second to release us from the Childrens home…but He did. It added to the excitement…added to the story…and made making the flight that much sweeter!
I imagine Him as I was growing anxious an stressing an questioning…that He was sitting back with a grin in his face waiting for my gift to be opened…and what a great gift it was!

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I hope I never forget that day…so exciting to follow you on Twitter and to dance when you finally made it home!

Comment by Cindi

well said! what a journey, my friend.

Comment by robbie

awesome I was so happy for you I actually was crying as you were tweeting saying you were finally on the plane. I hope you are doing well

Comment by justina

What a great great Story God has blessed you guys with. Tell it well. I can’t wait to hear or read one day what Ronel will have to say about it. What he saw happening and how it will forever change him and you. You guys are loved!

Comment by Shelly Conn

Awesome.

Comment by Robert C

Beautiful!

Comment by Karina

Isn’t it awesome to be loved by a God who delights in our joy? I love what you said about God adding to your excitement and to your story therefore making the whole experience sweeter. I’m so glad Ronel is home with his family!

Comment by Regan

I am so happy for you and your family. God Bless!

Comment by Clark Lara II




Leave a Reply

