IN ALL ERNESTNESS


Perspective…
March 13, 2008, 9:56 am
Filed under: family, life, love, people, prayer | Tags: , , ,

As I sat down at the desk this morning I reached for my blue notebook, my journal, and I slowly opened it before me. I reached for a pen and with a sincere heart and intent I began to write. It was just me, God, and my journal. My thoughts, my fears, my requests…I began to share them with God through written word. As I wrote I poured out my heart to Him. Our present situation (which is less than ideal), our future, our needs…all being presented to my Daddy God. It’s kind of like a little kid who’s having a hard time and crawls up in the comfort of his daddy’s lap and begins tell him all about it. That’s how I pictured myself this morning. I was asking Him for help and guidance. Then I paused for a second and a thought entered my mind. There are millions of people who have it so much worse than me…what about them. Now I don’t think this nullifies my needs for God to show up in our situation or the requests I spoke to him about, but it definitely puts them into perspective.

I began to pray for the all of those who have it worse than me. I prayed for those who were hungry and thirsty. I prayed for those who are dying and full of disease due to unclean drinking water. I prayed for the oppressed and for those sold into bondage as a part of human trafficking. I prayed for those in the brothels and those on the streets. I prayed for those living in captivity to various addictions. I prayed for those who are spiritually lost and in need of the Liberating King. So many people, so many needs. Lord I pray for justice and mercy in their lives.

I think we all could use a little bit of perspective at times. When you talk to God, while you’re driving down the road, while you sit in silence, when you begin to worry about your problems, think of others. Think of the “least of these” who have it far worse. Pray for them. Then ask yourself, “What can I do for them?”

“Learn to do good. Seek justice. Help the oppressed. Defend the orphan. Fight for the rights of widows.”
Isaiah 1:17 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Things are really only bad compared to something better, and things are really only good compared to something worse. Thank you for your insights this morning.

Comment by Dr. Paul

Never forget the Lord’s soverignty and the Word’s sufficiency.

Comment by Chris Perry

I really need to learn how to spell sovereignty. Is that even right? Oh, well, I know what it means.

Comment by Chris Perry




Leave a Reply

