IN ALL ERNESTNESS


Crashing Stronholds…
October 22, 2007, 11:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Yesterday morning we decided to visit Houston’s First Baptist. We really enjoyed the services but that is not what I want to talk about. What I want to briefly discuss is the power of God that is able to tear down strongholds and break the chains of bondage. 2 Corinthians 10:3-6, For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh, for the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses. We are destroying speculations and every lofty thing raised up against the knowledge of God, and we are taking every thought captive to the obedience of Christ, and we are ready to punish all disobedience, whenever your obedience is complete.”

There was a man who was baptized who had been addicted to cocaine for 20 years. He was introduced to Christ and has been set free from his addiction. You should have seen the smile on his face displaying the joy of the Lord and the joy of freedom. It was refreshing to see and to be honest I was moved deeply. The services continued and I happened to look over right as this same man is being ushered to the area where his family and friends were and there was a celebration party going on for him right in the middle of the service. It was great. Tears, hugs, smiles…I couldn’t help but stare. There was a woman who may have been his wife; when he got to her they embraced tightly and my heart was lifted and I thanked God for His redemptive power.

I may not have been addicted to cocaine but I too have been set free by my daddy God! Strongholds have been broken by the power and love of my God. I thank Him and praise Him for this wonderful gift that I do not deserve.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good words. We tend to forget God’s power – very easy to do. He is SO awesome. Blessings. PS miss you and your family very very much

Comment by Judy




Leave a Reply

