IN ALL ERNESTNESS


Hey, look at me, I’m ignorant and insecure…
October 10, 2007, 8:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

noose

I am bored tonight. I am an insecure person. I am ignorant so I think I will go out and hang a noose in someone else’s yard just because they are different than me. How about it?  You want to go with?

It is a shame to think there are those people out there. It is a shame that there are people so insecure, so ignorant, so immature out there. How can anyone say they are better than someone else based solely on the color of skin?

I grew up just north of Houston in the thriving metropolis of New Caney, TX. When I went to church I had to drive through a small town called Splendora. Many a Sunday a group of people in camo and white hoods could be found on the side of the road recruiting. I didn’t understand it then and I don’t understand it now.

On TV there was an inter-racial couple and my daughter made notice of it. I took the opportunity to ask her what she thought of it. “Do you think there is anything wrong or weird about that?” I asked. She looked at me with a confused look and replied, “No way.  Why would I?” I told her that some people thought they were better than other people or didn’t like other people who were different colors than them.  “That’s crazy! I would like a person even if they were purple.” she said.

I told her that is how it should be.  Why can’t we all be like that? I know that racism exists in every race but as a white person I want to first apologize then state that I am concerned because I don’t want what others do or say in those regards to affect the way I am viewed or perceived. I love diversity and think it adds to the beauty of life.

One of the problems is there are too many people walking around with rose colored glasses who fool themselves into thinking racism is a thing of the past. We all need to wake up to the realization that just because we aren’t racist doesn’t mean that it doesn’t exist or that there is nothing we should or can do about it.

I will close with this story…My daughter was about 3 or 4 at the time. My wife is part Hispanic and was adopted by a Hispanic family. Her dad is pretty dark complected.  One day my daughter was holding his hand and looked at it compared to hers and said, “Grandpa, you are chocolate and I LOVE chocolate!” She still loves her Grandpa…and chocolate.

Anyway, just  my thoughts…

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

dude….for real. great word man. doesn’t make any sense to me how people can be so consumed with hatred towards another race/color.

hey, thanks for the comment on my blog. i appreciate the encouragement. i need to call you. i’m a loser.

Comment by aaronivey.com

Yes racism is alive and well – I see it on a daily basis in someone I love – it hurts so much. I don’t understand and ask God why. I will never understand it – people can be so cruel. Thanks for this word this morning. Bless you both – hugs. Judy

Comment by Judy Works

Shoutout to New Caney!

You know Ernest, I wish I knew then 1/10 of what I know now. I would have just went to a few of those “meetings” myself. Except just to stir up trouble. Looking back it is only by the grace of God that I did not end up at one of those meetings myself. I remember vividly when God smacked me in the head towards my racism. Oh I claimed I was not… but when I began to truly understand God’s love, I saw that I was not living that way.

Thanks for the reminder! I loved the Chocolate story… that’s great!

Comment by Robert Conn




Leave a Reply

