IN ALL ERNESTNESS


Okay God, come out, come out wherever You are!
October 8, 2007, 4:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Have you ever felt like God wasn’t listening?  Life gets hard…Decisions are difficult…Troubles come and there seems like there is no end in sight. Cries for help and guidance seem to not be heard.  “Where are you God?”  can be a thought that easily enters your mind. I have found myself in these same situations.  Too recently in fact.  Okay, I’ll be totally honest…in some areas even now.  I get frustrated, I get impatient, I get confused…”Hello, God!  Remember me?” 

This must be what David felt like in Psalm 22, “My God, My God, why have you forsaken me?  Why are You so far from helping me, and form the words of my groaning?  O My God, I cry in the daytime, but You do not hear; And in the night season, and am not silent…”

David goes into this whole pity party episode in the following verses.  He feels like we do some times.  He’s wondering where God is and why isn’t He listening…It isn’t long until verse 21 when he finds out that God was listening and God did hear his cry. 

Later we see David saying things like, “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?” 

What a turn around.

When we go through times of despair and it feels like God isn’t there, think of David.  He felt the same way and soon found out that God was listening.  We can also look to Job.  He had no clue why what was going on was going on.  He lost his security, his wealth, his family, his health…He eventually wished he had never been born but as we read of his account we see God was there and He was in control.

It may seem like God isn’t there.  It may seem like he doesn’t care or that He isn’t listening.  Satan may even try to make you doubt God’s existence or love…Just remember that God is there and He does care and He does hear and in His perfect timing and according to His perfect plan He will answer.  He is the one who can bring beauty from ashes.  He can turn our mourning in to dancing.  He can make all things turn out for good for those who love Him and are called according to His purpose.

We just need to be reminded of that sometimes.  I have to remind myself of that sometimes.  Plus if times were always perfect how would we know we needed God?

Dear God, when life seems bad and situations out of control; when it seems like You’re not there may I remember that You are there.  May I trust You and Your promises.  Help me to stand upon Your truth.  I have so many things to be thankful for; to praise you for.  Help me not to focus on the bad.  I know that You are there and that You will work all things out to my good.  I praise You for it Lord!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Found you….

Comment by Karina

Ernest have you ever read any Larry Crabb? This sounds like his stuff. (Good that is)

Comment by Robert Conn

Robert-I have not. I am always looking for new good books to read though. (I honestly am not the best at reading them right away but I like them nonetheless)

Comment by ernest parker




Leave a Reply

